An official website of the United States government.

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.

This site is also protected by an SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificate that’s been signed by the U.S. government. The https:// means all transmitted data is encrypted — in other words, any information or browsing history that you provide is transmitted securely.

Home / Vertebrate Species

Vertebrate Species

Vertebrate species are animals with backbones or spinal columns. Example species include: bony fish; sharks; rays; amphibians; reptiles; mammals; and birds. In some cases closely related species lacking a backbone such as hagfish with a bony skull called a cranium are included in the group. To date this group includes as many as 58,000 species ranging in size from a small carp of 0.3 inches to 110 feet for the Blue Whale.


Adult Cane Toad (Bufo marinus). DOI. US Geological Survey.

USDA. National Agricultural Library. National Invasive Species Information Center.

Originally introduced to control sugar cane pests; current population in Florida was an accidental release.

Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force

The Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) Task Force is an intergovernmental organization dedicated to preventing and controlling aquatic nuisance species, and implementing the Nonindigenous Aquatic Nuisance Prevention and Control Act (NANPCA) of 1990.